The law of the Simpsons

In honor of the Simpsons movie (which just came out on Friday), I wanted to link this piece called the Law of the Simpsons.

 It uses some of the funnier law-related quotes from the show’s history, such as:

Lionel Hutz: Uh-oh. We’ve drawn Judge Snyder.
Marge: Is that bad?
Hutz: Well, he’s had it in for me ever since I kinda ran over his dog.
Marge: You did?
Hutz: Well, replace the word “kinda” with the word “repeatedly” and the word “dog” with “son.”

It does miss out on one of my favorites though:

Hutz: I’ve argued in front of every judge in this state. Often as a lawyer!

The article makes some good points about why the humor works – how the show plays on public perception of lawyers. Frankly, I think it’s looking too deeply. In the older Simpsons episodes, everyone was terrible at their jobs: Homer has no idea how to be a nuclear safety inspector, Dr. Nick Riveria is a quack, Krusty is a TV clown who hates people, Moe the bartender doesn’t know that gin and tonic mix, etc.

Nevertheless, it’s a good read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment