Tips for understanding medical tests/conditions

This may be obvious for some of you folks… you know, along the lines of “check Google or Wikipedia.” But even for someone young and technologically savvy (not to mention handsome ;)) as myself, I’m still kind of surprised about this:

Curious what a medical condition or test looks like? Check Youtube.

Yesterday I was trying to understand what a Trendelenberg gait was, and I wasn’t exactly understanding the wikipedia explanation. Turns out there are videos on Youtube to show exactly what it looks like.

I’ve done this in the past so I could see common tests like the Hawkin’s sign or Neer’s sign. It beats trying to read about it.

(Howard Zimmerle is a personal injury attorney in Rock Island and Moline Illinois, practicing in Illinois and Iowa).

4 Comments

Filed under Medical Information, Workers Compensation

4 responses to “Tips for understanding medical tests/conditions

  1. Pingback: Illinois Personal Injury & Work Comp Blog » Using YouTube to understand medical tests/conditions

  2. Pingback: Understanding Medical Tests « Jon Groth’s Wisconsin Personal Injury Weblog

  3. I love to read such informative articles. It is good to know what went wrong in which part of the world.. even in distant places, where we do not ever plan to physically visit, we visit there virtually and analyse the complete scene. Thanks for this piece of information to add to my experience! To share my experiences too, recently, I came across an article on how efficiently a good law firm can get you the justice, which otherwise, sometimes, gets next to impossible. While reading, I realized how important it is to take legal advice whenever you get stuck with any difficult situation. Mostly people have family lawyers, but having a family lawyer does not in any way decreases the importance of keeping an international law firms directory handy, where one can find law experts in various fields of practice.

  4. Recently I had an ultrasound that showed a nabothian cyst on one of my ovaries and something resembling a gestational sac in my uterus but pregnancy test was negative. I then had a mammogram that showed a dominant mass and another kind of mass my breasts, and then my blood work showed elevated alkaline phos. Does any of this add up? Has anyone else experienced any of these test results? And what did it all add up to? I Am scheduled for more testing, but wonder if anyone out there has expeienced simular test results?

Leave a Reply

