Lawyers have nightmares

I was talking to my boss the other day about having nightmares about cases. It’s common, I’ve heard for all lawyers to wake up during the night, worried about cases, statute dates, discovery, juries, etc.

And from what I’ve heard, it only gets worse.

I woke up in a sweat a few days ago, fearing that I would miss the statute of limitations date on a case I had coming up.

I couldn’t get back to sleep three nights ago after dreaming that I had messed up a client’s interrogatory answers.

I think the first time I had a dream like this was the night before the Illinois bar exam. I was staying with a friend in Chicago whose condo was very close to the train. I had a dream that I was in court, thinking that I was only watching a trial. Just then I realized that I was actually the plaintiff’s lawyer, and that everyone was waiting for me to give my opening statement, even though I had no idea what the case was and had nothing prepared. Then the members of the jury started stomping their feet loudly… quicker and quicker in anticipation of my opening as I stood silent. I was terrified.

When I woke up I realized that the stomping in my dream was actually the train going by.

I would love to hear other lawyer’s stories about crazy paranoid dreams. Maybe I should keep a journal of my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Law Practice Management

Leave a Reply

