New legal theory in pet food cases

By now, I’m sure most readers have heard about pet deaths due to tainted pet food.

 Naturally, people want to sue. I can’t blame them at all… my dog is a part of my family and very important to me. The snag in these cases though, is that most courts only allow a pet owner to recover the cost of the pet, plus vet bills that were related to the tainted food. So if I spent $100 on a dog, and $200 on vet bills, I could only get $300 from a lawsuit.

 To most pet owners, that just doesn’t seem right. This article from Law.com talks about attorneys’ attempts to get more for tainted pet food cases. I have no idea how that will turn out, but I’m rooting for the pet owners on this one.

Leave a comment

Filed under Legal News

Leave a Reply

